Born into a theatrical family, Jacques Simonet, known as Jacques Perrin, is the son of actress Marie Perrin (whose maiden name he will later go by as his stage name) and Alexandre Simonet, a stage manager at the Comédie-Française and later prompter at Jean Vilar’s Théâtre National Populaire (People’s National Theater).

Jacques Perrin was accepted into the National Academy of Dramatic Arts in Paris at the age of 17, together with his sister Eva. He attended Jan Yonnel’s class, but left shortly thereafter to start acting in plays.
In 1960, the Italian director Valerio Zurlini cast him to appear alongside Claudia Cardinale in Girl with a Suitcase. In 1962, Zurlini and Perrin were reunited in Cronaca Familiare (Family diary), starring Marcello Mastroianni. The film was awarded the Golden Lion at the Venice Film Festival. He then starred in Pierre Schoendoerffer’s The 317th Platoon, followed by The Sleeping Car Murders, the first feature film directed by Costa Gavras.

In 1966, he was given the starring role in two films: Vittorio de Seta’s Almost a Man and a Spanish film, The Search, directed by Angelino Fons. Both films earned him the Volpi Cup for Best Actor at the Venice Film Festival in 1967. He was also Catherine Deneuve’s co-star in two Jacques Demy films, The Young Girls of Rochefort (1967) and Donkey skin (1970).

La 317e Section, Costa-Gavras, 1965

Les Demoiselles de Rochefort, Jacques Demy, 1967

In addition to his work as an actor, and as head of the production company Reggane Film, he produced Z by Costa Gavras, which won two Oscars in 1969 for Best Foreign Picture and Best Film Editing.

In 1972, he produced the first feature film about the Algerian rebellion, The Algerian War, a documentary by Yves Courrière and Philippe Monnier. He was the producer of two other films directed by Costa Gavras, State of Siege (1972), with Yves Montand, followed by Special Section which won the Best Director Award at the Cannes Film Festival in 1976.

In 1976, he produced The Desert of the Tartars, based on Buzzati’s novel and entrusted the direction of the film to Valerio Zurlini. He also played the lead role alongside Vittorio Gassman, Giuliano Gemma, Philippe Noiret, Max Von Sydow, Jean-Louis Trintignant, Laurent Terzieff, Fernando Rey, Francisco Rabal, and Helmut Griem. The film won the Grand Prix du Cinéma Français and the Donatello award in Italy.

Le Désert des Tartares, Valério Zurlini, 1976

The same year, he was the producer of Jean-Jacques Annaud’s first film, Black and White in Color, which won the Best Foreign Film Academy Award, his third Oscar.

In 1977, he was the lead actor in Crabe-Tambour (Drummer Crab), directed by Pierre Schoendoerffer. The two paired up again in 1982 for A Captain’s Honor. Perrin then starred in Giuseppe Tornatore’s Cinema Paradiso (1989), with Philippe Noiret.

In addition to producing several fiction screenplay adaptations, he then chose Gérard Vienne to direct the first in a series of nature documentaries, The Monkey Folk in 1988, which was followed by Microcosmos, directed by Calude Nuridsany and Marie Pérennou. The documentary was awarded 5 César Awards, including Best Producer.

In September 1998, he began the production of Himalaya, directed by Eric Valli. The film was very successful and went on to win two Césars and many international awards, along with an Oscar Nomination in 2000 (Best Foreign Film).

Cinéma Paradiso, Giuseppe Tornatore, 1989

Between July 1998 and September 2001, Jacques Perrin dedicated his time to producing Winged Migration. Released in December 2001, the documentary was a huge success in France and other major markets such as the US, Japan, Germany, etc. The film was nominated for Best Documentary at the Academy Awards.

In 2002, Jacques Perrin put together an international team of 11 highly regarded directors to produce a collaborative film inspired by the events of September 11th 2001. Sean Penn, Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu, Ken Loach, Amos Gitaï, Claude Lelouch, Shohei Imamura among others contributed to making this film, which received critical acclaim in many international film festivals.

During the summer of 2003, Jacques Perrin produced Christophe Barratier’s first film, The Chorus, starring Gérard Jugnot and François Berléand. The score was composed by Bruno Coulais. The film was very successful in France, selling 9 million tickets. It was also very well received abroad, receiving 2 Oscar Nominations for Best Foreign Film and Best Original Song.

Jacques Perrin then produced several films in association with the French production company Pathé, including Paris 36 directed by Christophe Barratier and Pierre Marcel’s documentary Tabarly. Both films were released in 2008.

He next embarked on his biggest production yet, Oceans, which he also co-directed with Jacques Cluzaud, selling 2.9 million tickets in France, and 12 million globally. The film went on to win the 2011 Best Documentary César Award.

In 2016, Galatée Films’ latest productions were released in theatres: Seasons directed by Jacques Perrin and Jacques Cluzaud, (the documentary also spawned a spin-off series) and Team spirit directed by Christophe Barratier and starring Arthur Dupont and François-Xavier Demaison.

Jacques Perrin is a reserve officer in the French Navy; his rank is Ship-of-the-line Captain. He was promoted to the rank of Commander of the National Order of the Legion of Honor during the induction ceremony of March 25th 2016.

En 2015, il est nommé dans le corps des peintres officiels de la Marine (POM) et en 2016, il est élu membre de l’Académie des Beaux-Arts de l’Institut de France, dans la section VII, Créations artistiques dans le cinéma et l’audiovisuel.

Le crabe tambour, Pierre Schoendoerffer, 1977

Selected filmography

ACTOR

Cinema :

GIRL WITH A SUITCASE Valério Zurlini 1960
CRONACA FAMILIARE [FAMILY DIARY] Valério Zurlini 1962
SUN IN YOUR EYES Jacques Bourdon 1962
LA CORRUZIONE [CORRUPTION] Mauro Bolognini 1963
THE 317th PLATOON P.Schoendoerffer 1964
THE SLEEPING CAR MURDER Costa Gavras 1965
THE SEARCH Angelino Fons 1966
UN HOMME A MOITIE [HALF A MAN] Vittorio de Seta 1966
HORIZON Jacques Ruffio 1966
THE YOUNG GIRLS OF ROCHEFORT Jacques Demy 1967
A LITTLE VIRTUOUS Serge Korber 1968
Z Costa Gavras 1968
PEAU D’ANE [DONKEY SKIN] Jacques Demy 1970
THE STRANGLER Paul Vecchiali 1972
SPECIAL SECTION Costa-Gavras 1974
THE DESERT OF THE TARTARS Valério Zurlini 1977
DRUMMER CRAB Pierre Schoendoerffer 1977
LES 40EMES RUGISSANTS [THE ROARING FORTIES] Christian de Chalonge 1981
A CAPTAIN’S HONOR Pierre Schoendoerffer 1982
THE JUDGE Philippe Lefebvre 1984
CINEMA PARADISO Giuseppe Tornatore 1988
THE YOUNG LIEUTENANT Xavier Beauvois 2005
REMI SANS FAMILLE [REMI WITHOUT FAMILY] Antoine Blossier 2017

Television Films :

LE CHATEAU DES OLIVIERS [ THE OLIVE TREE CHATEAU] Nicolas Gessner 1993
UN HOMME DIGNE DE CONFIANCE [A TRUSTWORTHY MAN] Philippe Monnier 1998
CHASSEURS D’ECUME [WAVE CHASERS] Denys Granier-Deferre 1999
SCHÖELCHER Paul Vecchiali 1999
LE PIANO OUBLIÉ [THE FORGOTTEN PIANO] Henri Helman 2006
LOUIS XI: SHATTERED POWER Henri Helman 2011
RICHELIEU Henri Helman 201

Issu du milieu du théâtre, Jacques Simonet, dit Jacques Perrin, est le fils d’Alexandre Simonet, régisseur à la Comédie-Française, puis souffleur au TNP de Jean Vilar, et de la comédienne Marie Perrin (dont il a plus tard adopté le matronyme comme nom de scène).

Jacques Perrin est admis au Conservatoire d’Art Dramatique de Paris à l’âge de 17 ans avec l’une de ses sœurs, Eva, dans la classe de Jean Yonnel, qu’il quitte rapidement pour monter sur les planches.

En 1960, le réalisateur italien Valério Zurlini l’engage aux côtés de Claudia Cardinale dans La Fille à la Valise. Il retrouve Valério Zurlini en 1962 pour Journal Intime (Cronaca Familiare) avec Marcello Mastroianni. Le film obtient le Lion d’Or au Festival de Venise. Il tourne ensuite avec Pierre Schoendoerffer La 317ème Section puis Compartiments Tueurs, le premier film de Costa Gavras.

En 1966, il est engagé par Vittorio de Seta pour le tournage du film Un Homme à moitié ; c’est pour ce film, et un film espagnol d’Angelino Fons, La Busca, qu’il obtient La Coupe Volpi de la Meilleure Interprétation Masculine au Festival de Venise en 1967. Il est également le partenaire de Catherine Deneuve dans deux films de Jacques Demy Les Demoiselles de Rochefort (1967) puis Peau d’âne (1970).

Galatée Films - Jacques Perrin

La 317e Section, Costa-Gavras, 1965

Galatée Films - Jacques Perrin

Les Demoiselles de Rochefort, Jacques Demy, 1967

Parallèlement à son métier d’acteur, Jacques Perrin dirige la société de production Reggane Films et devient producteur avec Z de Costa Gavras qui obtient l’Oscar du Meilleur Film Etranger et celui du Meilleur Montage en 1969.

En 1972, il produit le premier film sur La Guerre d’Algérie, film de montage d’Yves Courrière et Philippe Monnier. Il produit deux autres films de Costa Gavras, Etat de Siège (1972), avec Yves Montand, puis Section Spéciale, qui reçoit le Prix de la Mise en Scène au Festival de Cannes 1976.

En 1976, il produit Le Désert des Tartares d’après Buzzati et en confie la réalisation à Valerio Zurlini, film dans lequel il joue le rôle principal aux côtés de Vittorio Gassman, Giuliano Gemma, Philippe Noiret, Max von Sydow, Jean-Louis Trintignant, Laurent Terzieff, Fernando Rey, Francisco Rabal, Helmut Griem… Le film obtient le Grand Prix du Cinéma Français et le prix Donatello en Italie.

Galatée Films - Jacques Perrin

Le Désert des Tartares, Valério Zurlini, 1976

La même année, Jacques Perrin produit La Victoire en Chantant, premier film de Jean-Jacques Annaud, et obtient son troisième Oscar du Meilleur Film Etranger.

En 1977, il est l’acteur principal du Crabe-Tambour de Pierre Schoendoerffer avec lequel il tournera également L’Honneur d’un Capitaine (1982). Jacques Perrin tourne ensuite dans le film Cinéma Paradiso (1989) de Giuseppe Tornatore, avec Philippe Noiret.

Puis, il confie à Gérard Vienne la réalisation du film qui inaugurera un cycle qui se tournera vers le monde de la Nature ; ce sera Le Peuple Singe en 1988 puis, parallèlement à la production de plusieurs œuvres de fiction, Microcosmos, Le Peuple de L’Herbe de Claude Nuridsany et Marie Pérennou, qui obtient 5 Césars dont celui du Meilleur Producteur.

En septembre 1998, il commence la production du film Himalaya, l’Enfance d’un Chef  réalisé par Eric Valli. Après avoir connu un grand succès, le film reçoit deux Césars ainsi que plusieurs prix internationaux dont une Nomination aux Oscars en 2000 (Meilleur film étranger).

Galatée Films - Jacques Perrin

Cinéma Paradiso, Giuseppe Tornatore, 1989

De juillet 1998 à septembre 2001, Jacques Perrin se consacre à la production du film  Le Peuple Migrateur. Sorti fin 2001, le film connaît un grand succès en France et dans plusieurs territoires majeurs USA, Japon, Allemagne, etc. Il est nommé à l’Oscar du Meilleur documentaire.

En 2002, Jacques Perrin réunit une équipe internationale de onze réalisateurs parmi les plus prestigieux pour produire un film collectif inspiré par les événements du 11 septembre 2001. Sean Penn, Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu, Ken Loach, Amos Gitaï, Claude Lelouch, Shohei Imamura, etc. feront partie de l’aventure de ce film qui sera salué dans de nombreux festivals internationaux.

L’été 2003, Jacques Perrin produit le premier film de Christophe Barratier, Les Choristes, avec Gérard Jugnot et François Berléand, sur une musique de Bruno Coulais. Le film rencontre un grand succès avec 9 millions de spectateurs.  Le film est également très bien accueilli à l’étranger. Il est nommé aux Oscars du Meilleur film étranger et de la Meilleure chanson.

Jacques Perrin produit ensuite plusieurs films en association avec Pathé : Faubourg 36 de Christophe Barratier et le documentaire Tabarly de Pierre Marcel, en 2008.

Il entame alors sa production la plus importante, Océans, dont il assure également la réalisation avec Jacques Cluzaud. Océans rassemble 2.9 millions de spectateurs en France et 12 millions dans le monde. Le film obtient le César 2011 du Meilleur Film Documentaire.L’année 2016 voit la sortie en salle des deux dernières productions de Galatée : Les Saisons de Jacques Perrin et Jacques Cluzaud, et décliné sous la forme d’une série télévisée, et L’Outsider de Christophe Barratier avec Arthur Dupont et François-Xavier Demaison.

Jacques Perrin est officier dans la réserve citoyenne de la Marine Nationale, avec le grade de Capitaine de vaisseau. Il a été promu Commandeur de l’Ordre National de la Légion d’honneur lors de la promotion du 25 mars 2016.

En 2015, il est nommé dans le corps des peintres officiels de la Marine (POM) et en 2016, il est élu membre de l’Académie des Beaux-Arts de l’Institut de France, dans la section VII, Créations artistiques dans le cinéma et l’audiovisuel.

Galatée Films - Jacques Perrin

Le crabe tambour, Pierre Schoendoerffer, 1977

Filmographie non exhaustive

ACTEUR

Films de cinéma :

LA FILLE A LA VALISE Valério Zurlini 1960
JOURNAL INTIME Valério Zurlini 1962
LE SOLEIL DANS L’ŒIL Jacques Bourdon 1962
LA CORRUPTION Mauro Bolognini 1963
LA 317 EME SECTION P.Schoendoerffer 1964
COMPARTIMENTS TUEURS Costa Gavras 1965
LA BUSCA Angelino Fons 1966
UN HOMME A MOITIE Vittorio de Seta 1966
L’HORIZON Jacques Ruffio 1966
LES DEMOISELLES DE ROCHEFORT Jacques Demy 1967
LA PETITE VERTU Serge Korber 1968
Z Costa Gavras 1968
PEAU D’ANE Jacques Demy 1970
L’ETRANGLEUR Paul Vecchiali 1972
SECTION SPECIALE Costa-Gavras 1974
LE DESERT DES TARTARES Valério Zurlini 1977
LE CRABE-TAMBOUR Pierre Schoendoerffer 1977
LES 40EMES RUGISSANTS Christian de Chalonge 1981
L’HONNEUR D’UN CAPITAINE Pierre Schoendoerffer 1982
LE JUGE Philippe Lefebvre 1984
CINEMA PARADISO Giuseppe Tornatore 1988
LE PETIT LIEUTENANT Xavier Beauvois 2005
REMI SANS FAMILLE Antoine Blossier 2017

Films de télévision :

LE CHATEAU DES OLIVIERS Nicolas Gessner 1993
UN HOMME DIGNE DE CONFIANCE Philippe Monnier 1998
CHASSEURS D’ECUME Denys Granier-Deferre 1999
SCHÖELCHER Paul Vecchiali 1999
LE PIANO OUBLIÉ Henri Helman 2006
LOUIS XI, LE POUVOIR FRACASSE Henri Helman 2011
RICHELIEU Henri Helman 2011